× LocationsWho We AreCareersLegal PolicyTerms of use

December 10, 2021 | Firm Updates

BATON ROUGE – The Council for A Better Louisiana (CABL) has named Shreveport attorney Malcolm Murchison as Chair of the organization for 2022. He will serve on CABL’s Board of Directors along with a slate of officers from across the state, steering the organization in its 60th year of service to Louisiana.

“I am honored to serve as chair of CABL as we continue to pursue its mission to improve the quality of life for all Louisianians,” he said. “Our focus remains consistent in the areas of education, state fiscal policies and reform, and civic engagement. I look forward to CABL’s continued collaborative, nonpartisan efforts with the Committee of 100, PAR and the Louisiana legislature in the pursuit of transformative policy changes for the betterment of our state.”

Murchison is a founding member of the law firm Bradley Murchison Kelly & Shea, LLC with offices in Shreveport, Baton Rouge and New Orleans. He has been regularly named to the list of Best Lawyers in America since 2010 and been recognized many times for his work in the fields of real estate, energy, and natural resources.

Active in the Shreveport community, he has served on the CABL Board of Directors since 2011. He is past Chairman of the Biomedical Research Foundation of Northwest Louisiana (BRF); the Greater Shreveport Chamber of Commerce; the Shreveport Bossier Convention and Tourist Bureau; and Dean’s Advisory Council for the Louisiana Tech College of Business. He is an alumnus of Louisiana Tech University and the LSU Paul M. Hebert Law Center.

Murchison will lead the CABL Board along with Chair-elect Heather Spillers Poole, Executive Vice-Chancellor of Academic and Student Affairs at Central Louisiana Technical Community College in Alexandria; Treasurer Robert Schneckenburger, Senior Regional President, Hancock/ Whitney, of Baton Rouge; Secretary Gwen Hamilton, Director of Community Affairs, New Schools for Baton Rouge, of Baton Rouge; and Immediate-Past-Chair Tyron Picard, Principal with the Picard Group, of Lafayette.

In addition, two new members were elected to the CABL Board of Directors. They are: Linda Holyfield, President & CEO of Specialty Management Services from Monroe; and Chris Rader, CEO of Rader Solutions in Lafayette.

Re-elected for additional terms on the CABL board were: Jason French, Principal, French Strategic Partners, Baton Rouge; Sara Judson, President & CEO, Community Foundation of Southwest Louisiana, Lake Charles; Spencer Martin, Business Process Manager, RoyOMartin, Alexandria; and Monique Thierry, Vice President, Congressional & Public Affairs, Southwest-South Central Region, U.S. Chamber of Commerce, Lafayette.

Dr. Phillip Rozeman Receives CABL Distinguished Service Award

CABL has also named Dr. Phillip Rozeman of Shreveport the 2021 recipient of the organization’s Robert B. Hamm Award for Distinguished Public Service.

Named in honor of the late CABL Board Chair Bob Hamm of Shreveport, the award recognizes individuals associated with CABL for their commitment to public service at the state or community level.

Rozeman is a former CABL Board Member and alum of CABL’s Leadership Louisiana program. He was recognized for his work to improve educational opportunities for students across Louisiana. “For many years, Phillip has been a tireless advocate for policies that improve public education,” said Barry Erwin, CABL President. “His work at both the state and local level has brought people together and made a difference in the lives of countless students across our state.”

Rozeman is the founder of the Alliance for Education and Education’s Next Horizon, and co-founder of the Shreveport-Bossier Business Alliance for Higher Education and Magnolia School of Excellence Charter School. He has served on numerous state-level commissions and task forces focusing on education issues.

Past recipients of the Robert B. Hamm Award include former Governor Kathleen Blanco, LSU economist Dr. James Richardson, Louisiana Public Broadcasting CEO Beth Courtney, and education activist Leslie Jacobs.

← Previous Next →